I Look Up When I Walk

Do you know what song I really like? Sukiyaki by Kyu Sakamoto. The real name of the song is Ue o Muite Arukō which translates to I look up when I walk. How inspirational is that!
Anyway, for some reason it was retitled Sukiyaki when it was released in English speaking countries. How frickin’ lazy is that! Oh, it’s so hard and we can’t pronounce it. Let’s just call it, oh I don’t know…Sukiyaki!
One Newsweek columnist noted that the retitling was like issuing “Moon River” in Japan under the title “Beef Stew.”

Poor homeboy Kyu. He died in that Japan Airlines Flight 123 crash back in ’85. It’s the deadliest single aircraft disaster in history.

Anyway, I love the song but this video is just weird. The camera guy was obviously on crack.

Leave a Reply

