It’s a Conspiracy

Yesterday, I thought that I was going to have to put wordpress on hold for a while. The computer died. Or was sick or something. IDK. I’m a semi-reformed Luddite and technophobe, so I really don’t know that much about computers. I try to fix my computer the same way that I try to fix a car, or anything else that goes kaput… I jostle it around, tap this, touch that, and scream PLEASE WORK.

Haha, your computer broke on the day of the Jeopardy test.

Yesterday was the day for the online Jeopardy test. That’s how you get on the show; by taking the online test. The test was supposed to start at 8pm for my region of the U.S. At about 1 pm my computer just died. Nothing I tried worked. It’s a laptop and pretty much on it’s last leg anyway, but somehow it keeps plugging away. Until yesterday. The day of the Jeopardy test.

I was sure that either the computer or game show deities were conspiring against me. Maybe it was karma for something horrible that I had done.

Anyway, I couldn’t get it to work. It was just a black screen with that stupid little white arrow in the middle of it. I was pissed. I wanted to throw it out the window.

I borrowed my sister’s laptop so that I could take the test. I had registered online the day before and had written down the log-in code that they had given me. I signed in to the Jeopardy test site at 7:30; the earliest time that you could sign in. The clock started ticking down. When it reached zero the test would begin. At 3 minutes before the test was to begin something happened and the countdown clock disappeared. I somehow got logged out of the site. I had to log back in and punch in the code. I had 15 seconds to spare. I remember thinking, “Somebody just does NOT want me to take this test”.

When the test started I was surprised. I know the first 20 (there are 50 questions).  Then I missed about 4 in a row. My sister was in the room so she helped me with the Tom Colicchio question ( I couldn’t remember if he is on Top Chef or Chopped). I didn’t keep track of how many I missed, but I don’t feel like it was more than 12. I could be wrong. The rumor is that you have to get at least 35 correct to pass. Anyway, I’m not holding my breath for them to call me. If it happens it happens.

When I went to bed last night, I resigned myself to the fact that I was probably going to have to do wordpress posts – or any other online stuff – on my iphone.  That would be a pain.

Anyway, when I woke up this morning I turned the computer on. After a few minutes it came on. Some text come on the screen. It was like blah blah blah checking your disc for errors blah blah blah etc. etc. After about 10 minutes the sign in thing popped up. I logged-in and was connected to the internet. I was like, “Ummmm, okay. I guess it works now”.

8 thoughts on “It’s a Conspiracy

  1. Glad to see your computer is functional. I’m a first time visitor I believe and let us know if you get a call from Jeopardy. I could say I kind of knew you.

Leave a Reply

