A Book I Bought at Goodwill


I went to Goodwill today. I got this book; Encyclopedia Yearbook 1964. It cost $2.00. I also got one for the 1963. It also cost $2.00. A vast majority of the stuff that they talk about in the book is now out of date. Also, most of the people that they talk about are dead. Tragic.

The big news story in the beginning of the book is the New York World’s Fair 64-65. The theme of the fair is “Peace Through Understanding”. The symbol is the Unisphere. I’ve never seen the Unisphere in person. I only see it when I watch Celebrity Apprentice. Speaking of Celebrity Apprentice, that Aubrey chick really gets on my last nerve. She’s such a brat. She walked off the show last night. She’ll be back though. That’s what Yahoo said that her Twitter post said.  That’s too bad. I wish that she would just go away. Her and that Lisa Lampawhatever. She’s another one I can’t stomach.

Anyway…

According the Encyclopedia Year Book 1964, William Faulkner won the Pulitzer in Fiction for The Reivers (posthumously). The prize is $500. Yippee. The Pulitzer for Poetry went to William Carlos Williams for Pictures From Breughel. Also posthumously and also $500.  I guess they were trying to save money that year by giving the award to dead people. IDK.
Samuel Barber won the Putlizer for Music. Piano Concerto No. 1.

Here is the first movement from the Concerto.

I like it. I just wish I was good enough to play it. I suck at piano.

I like Samuel Barber. He’s one of my favorite composers. We even belong to the same fraternity. That’s pretty cool, I guess.

DJ Tiesto even redid Barber’s Adagio for Strings.

Enough about Barber and the Pulitzers.

It also says in the World’s Fair article that Michelangelo’s Pieta from St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome is among art treasures loaned for exhibit at the fair.

Since the article was written before the World’s Fair even happened, I had to go to Wikipedia and see if the Pieta actually made it to the fair. Apparently it did.

 The sculpture was shipped to New York in 1964 in order to become the main draw for the Vatican pavilion at the 1964 New York World’s Fair, where it was viewed by millions. A copy was transported beforehand to ensure that the statue could be conveyed without being damaged. This copy is on view at St. Joseph’s Seminary, Dunwoodie, in Yonkers.

I was also semi-shocked to learn that:

On May 21, 1972 (Pentecost Sunday) a mentally disturbed geologist named Laszlo Toth walked into the chapel and attacked the sculpture with a geologist’s hammer while shouting “I am Jesus Christ.” Onlookers took many of the pieces of marble that flew off. Later, some pieces were returned, but many were not, including Mary’s nose, which had to be reconstructed from a block cut out of her back.

If I would have never bought an almost 50 year old and totally out-dated Encyclopedia Year Book from 1964, I would not have known this. Well, not today anyway. I might eventually have learned it.

And, if you did not know it, then NOW you do. 

I have to go now and read up on the advances in medicine for 1963.

3 thoughts on “A Book I Bought at Goodwill

      1. Ha-funny. I used to be a rock/mineral collector and I wondered if having rocks in your head was common in people who spent their weekends breaking open boulders with sledge hammers, like myself. I never had any urges to damage statues though.

Leave a Reply

