I Blog Dead People

So, I went back to Goodwill today and bought some more of those Encyclopedia Year Books. This Goodwill has only been open for less that a year. It used to be a Circuit City. It’s kind of ironic. I won’t go into why.

One of the more humorous things that I read was in the book from 1963. On page 33 it says that:

In a few years there will be several millions of Americans employed in space and immediately related industries…

Did they actually believe that? Seriously, did they? Did they honestly believe that we were going to be that smart and that advanced in just a few short years?

I guess in a way they were kind of right. If , by space you mean ‘spacey’, as in vapid and inane and clueless.

I’ve got those stupid books spread out all over my bed, trying to find something interesting to blog about. A lot of stuff happened in the 60s you know. I’m sure I can find something. This is one of those Invita Minerva days, so I need all the help I can get. Even if I have to go back about 5 decades.

Here’s something. It’s from the ’65 yearbook. I’m in the section where they do a recap of the ’64 events. I was only 7 in ’64 so I don’t really remember a whole lot. It’ll be like current events all over again. Only this time I’ll understand the big words.

Jan 3, 64
United States: Sen. Barry Goldwater (R. – Ariz.) announced his candidacy for the Republican presidential nomination.

Here is a picture of him. He kind of has a goofy look on his face. Out of ALL the pictures of Barry Goldwater, this is the one that they put on wikipedia. He’s like a deer caught in the headlights.

I remember when my mom voted for him. Or, at least when she was talking about it.

Anyway, I like his glasses.

Our next president...NOT!

Here is another picture of him. He kind of looks like Sammy Davis, Jr.

I always thought that he was more attractive WITHOUT the hipster frames.

Now I’m looking in the Deaths section of the 1966 EYB. Of course they’re talking about the people who died in 1965.

Hmmmm…It looks like Adlai Stevenson died on July 14. Poor homeboy ran twice, unsuccessfully, for the U.S. presidency on the Democratic ticket. Anyway, he lost to ‘I Like Ike’ Eisenhower both times. Now, when I talk about Adlai Stevenson, I’m talking about the one from the famous shoe photo, NOT his grandfather, who was one of Grover Cleveland’s vice presidents.

Here is another picture of him where he looks even goofier and more bizarre than that one Goldwater photo I talked about.

Yo, Adlai! Nice combover.

Who else died in ’65? Let’s see…
Oh, Albert Schweitzer. Albert died on Sept. 4 (you should remember that because it’s probably going to be on the final). The no. 1 song on the Billboard Charts that day was Help! by the Beatles.

If you watch the video you’ll see that John really needs to work on his lip syncing skills.

Anyway, Albert was super-smart and did a bunch of stuff. He was awarded the 1952 Nobel Peace Prize for his work in Gabon.

Also dying that year were:

Edward R. Murrow on April 27
Nat King Cole on Feb. 15
T.S. Eliot on Jan. 4
Somerset Maugham on Dec. 16
Francis Perkins on May 14.

I am Francis Perkins. President Roosevelt has just died and I am ever so sad.

Who was Francis Perkins?
She was the first woman appointed to the U.S. Cabinet. She was U.S. Secretary of Labor under Roosevelt from 1933-1945.

She is honored with a feast day on the liturgical calendar of the Episcopal Church (USA) on May 13.

Anyway, a bunch of other stuff happened too, but I am over this. I found something to talk about, so now I am done. Well…for now.

I didn’t proofread this, so if shit is spelled wrong…ehhhh, whatever.

2 thoughts on “I Blog Dead People

  1. It is part of the legend of Lyndon B. Johnson that on april 3rd in 1965, the U.S. president reportedly grabbed Canadian Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson by the lapels and shouted: “Don’t you come into my living room and piss on my rug.”

Leave a Reply

