The Hailey/Haley Confusion

Earlier this morning, I walked to the EZ Mart so that I could cash in some winning lottery tickets. It took me 3 playings of Purple Haze by Jimi Hendrix on my iphone to get there. I cashed in 10 tickets and got $47. That’s more than I thought that it was going to be.

On my way home I stopped by Goodwill. I went to the book section. I keep thinking that I’m going to find Ten North Frederick by John O’Hara. So far, no such luck. I guess that it’s possible that it’s there somewhere. With the exception of the paperback romance novels, there is no order to the books as to how they are placed on the shelves.  I can only bend down for so long to look at the books on the bottom shelves. After a few minutes I start to get dizzy.

Even though I wasn’t able to find TNF, I did come across Wheels by Arthur Hailey. I like Hailey’s books. I read Hotel and Airport when I was in high school. I’d never read Wheels, though.

In 1975, my senior year of high school, I got all excited because I thought that Arthur Hailey was coming to our school. He was supposed to speak during an assembly. However, much to my dismay (at the time, anyway), it wasn’t Arthur Hailey who spoke at the assembly. It was some guy named Alex Haley. He had just written a book called Roots: The Saga of an American Family, and he was there to talk about it. I don’t even think that it had been published yet. Since I was an idiotic teenager, and disappointed over the fact that it wasn’t Arthur Hailey, I barely listened to a word he said. I think about it now and kick myself in the butt.

I learned a valuable lesson from that experience. ALWAYS  listen to guest speakers.

In an ironic twist of fate – if you want to call it that, I guess – I also saw a copy of “Roots” when I was looking through the books today.

In addition to the Hailey book, I also got a book called A Treasury of Great Mysteries – Volume 2. It’s a compilation of several books. It was copyrighted in 1957.

It contains:

  1. The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler
  2. The Bone of Contention by Dorothy L. Sayers
  3. The Arrow of God by Leslie Charteris
  4. I Can Find My Way Out by Ngaio Marsh
  5. Instead of Evidence by Rex Stout
  6. Rift in the Loot by Stuart Palmer and Craig Rice
  7. The Man Who Explained Miracles by Carter Dickson
  8. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

I love Raymond Chandler. Especially The Long Goodbye. It contains my favorite last line of any book that I’ve ever read.

I never saw any of them again – except the cops. No way has yet been invented to say goodbye to them.

I guess that I could do a sneak peek and see what the last line is in The Big Sleep.

On the way downtown I stopped at a bar and had a couple of double Scotches. They didn’t do me any good. All they did was make me think of Silver-Wig, and I never saw her again.

Hmmmmm…Okay, so there seems to be a theme there. I guess Phillip Marlowe doesn’t see people again.

At any rate, they’re effective. They leave you with that empty, lonely feeling. Kind of like the end of The Great Gatsby.

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

Oh my, this post has become quite depressing. I think that I may need to stop now.

4 thoughts on “The Hailey/Haley Confusion

  1. Just because you don’t understand everything on someone else’s blog, that doesn’t mean you’re stupid-it just means that you’re interested in different things than they are. I’ve been studying plants and nature for close to 50 years, and I might know plants but I don’t know everything. I’ve learned things from every blog I’ve read regularly, including yours.

Leave a Reply

