WordPress Theme Remorse

I thought about changing my WordPress theme to one of the MLB Baseball themes. I actually did it about an hour ago. Then I changed it back 2 minutes later. I get all angsty when I change my theme. It took me forever to decide on this one. Sometimes I’ll spend hours and hours testing all of the various WordPress themes, only to end up with the one that I originally had.

When I first started this blog I used the Twenty Ten Theme. I liked it okay. The print was actually big enough for me to see. I’m one of those people who is as blind as a bat and needs larger text when I read. When I discovered that it was the most popular theme, I decided to change it. I guess I just wanted to be different. IDK.

The thing about changing your theme is that, sometimes, it messes up the posts that you have already done. It might put the photos in a different spot or cause certain gifs not to work. Some of the paragraphs become misaligned and it just makes the whole post look odd. Kind of like you didn’t know what you were doing.

Is this REALLY the theme that I want to use?

Sometimes I’ll read someone’s blog and go, “Oh, I want that theme. It’s kind of cool”. So, I go and change it. Then 5 minutes later I hate it. Then I change it back.

Some people have had the same theme from day one. They never change, or even think about changing it. I kind of envy them. I wish that I could be more like that. Then I could spend more time thinking about things to blog about instead of thinking about what theme is the absolute perfect one for my blog; if there IS such a thing.

Presently, the theme that I use is called Selecta. As of 4/18/12 that’s what it is. If someone reads this later on down the line then it might be something completely different. That’s why I included the date.

Here is what Selecta’s Theme Showcase says about it.

With a featured posts slider on the front page, a wide, one-column template on image and video posts, and archives and search results displayed in gallery format, Selecta is well-suited for blogs that focus primarily on showcasing videos or images.

According to the theme stats, it’s the 89th most popular theme. I like it because of the color scheme options. I suppose that instead of trying to find a new theme that I could just change the color scheme on the Selecta theme.

I guess the reason that I am even talking about this is because I’m curious if anyone else has the same problem. Or is it just me?

Dude, you seriously need to chill about the theme. It's really not that big of a deal.
5 thoughts on “WordPress Theme Remorse

  1. I’ve had the same theme from day 1 because I never knew how to change it. Every now and then it looks old or boring to me, but that passes when I remember that people come for the content, not the background. Plus I’m too chicken to change it for fear of running into the problems you listed.

    1. I like the theme that you use. It was the one that I used the very first time that I started a wordpress blog about 4 years ago. I didn’t really know what I was doing and eventually lost the blog. I forgot the email address and the password. It’s out there somewhere in the blogosphere with a few posts about Las Vegas.

Leave a Reply

